Posted by: ivyschex | January 4, 2010

It’s a New Start

It’s a new world, it’s a new start
It’s alive with the beating of young hearts
It’s a new day, it’s a new plan
~Bryan Adams~

It is the start of a new year. It’s a time for new beginnings, new dreams, and new goals. As I think about all the new days and new starts that I have had with my horses, I am so glad that horses are so forgiving. I can remember times where I was a terrible trainer; yet, the next day, I had a chance to try again, a chance to try to be better.

That’s what learning is about. It is about making mistakes and learning from them. I don’t know everything and will make mistakes, but I know that each day can be started, without having to make those same mistakes again. I know I can go out there and start over and learn from the past.

Horses are wonderful animals to work with. They can remember so well, but they can also forgive easily. The mistakes that we made yesterday can be overcome today. With each fresh start, each fresh day, we can make the most of what we have learned and do it better. Each year can have a new goal, each week can have a new lesson, and each sunrise can have a new dream.

Tomorrow is a new day, with no mistakes in it yet
~Ann of Green Gables~

So, do not be afraid to make mistakes. But live each day remembering the past.

Responses

  1. “Horses are wonderful animals to work with. They can remember so well, but they can also forgive easily.”

    I am so thankful for this!

    I look back at how I was interacting with my animals several years ago, and am down right ashamed sometimes. Our horses are so wonderful for putting up with us!, it’s a wonder humans have made it this far with horse training.

    Then, I even watch videos I took from about a year ago. My goodness! Fumbling around awkwardly with the clicker, adding cues and clicks and requests at often the wrong time, yet knowing I had discovered the beginning of something wonderful.

    And in another few years, will I look back on now and say, what the heck was I doing then? And realize how little I know now? I sure hope so, as it will mean I have continued to learn and refine my technique.

    There is always more to learn and discover. And if we keep our eyes open and are looking to learn more, we are sure to find it.

    Happy new year! I look forward to reading more of your blog in the coming year. I’ve really enjoyed some of the youtube videos you’ve posted of your horses.

    cheers,

    Mary


Leave a Reply

Categories

