Posted by: ivyschex | March 6, 2010

Diary post March 5, 2010 with video

March 5, 2010

I worked Jackson for about an hour.  I started out by endotapping him on the ground once I got him tacked up.  I got on, after he yawned a bunch of times.  We did some work at the walk.  I did a little work on the spinning.  Then I worked on some shoulder ins, half passes, and two tracks at the walk.  Then I worked some more on the rising trot.  I think I am improving a little bit, but it is hard to tell. 

I also endotapped him briefly at the walk and trot on both sides.  I think I need to do more endotapping at the trot and really get him relaxed.  It is still hard for me to tap him and post at the same time, but I am working on it!

I did do a little work on the canter.  I again asked for transitions from a relaxed (kind of) trot to the canter and I saw a big improvement in the right lead canter.  I also worked a little on increasing the canter with just using my seat.  I think it was only a small change, but I hope that will increase as I work at it. 

Then I did more work at the rising trot, really trying to get him to engage the hind end.  My brother came out and took another video for me and I am much happier with how he moves at the trot.  I think it is starting to happen.  He does have a little trouble, thinking I am asking him to canter, but with work, we will correct that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdIrOCP8Ul8

Ivy

Leave a Reply

Categories

