Posted by: ivyschex | May 7, 2010

Balancer Photo

Every once and a while, you can find a great photo. No, this isn’t one of those great photos, but I do like it. It not only shows Jackson using his body much better than he used to, but it also shows that I controlling my body better as well.

If you read Dancing with Horses by Klaus Ferdinand Hempfling, he talks about always being physically relaxed. If you notice, my shoulders aren’t tight and my arms are hanging loosely (mostly, anyway). I am “stepping under” myself a little bit, hoping to encourage Jackson to do the same.

If you look at the number picture (below), number 1 shows how he is bending the joints in the hind legs to lower his hindquarters. At number 2, you see him lifting the base of his neck slightly. You can tell, because the underside of his neck is in this type of a shape “(“, as opposed to this shape “)”. At number 3, you see he is using his loin and back muscles.

Keep in mind that my description is coming from someone who has recently learning these things. 🙂

I hope that this little explanation helps you see your horse in a new light.

Ivy

Responses

  1. Thank You, Ivy for explaining this to me. This is very helpful!!! 🙂

  2. Excellent !


Leave a Reply

Categories

