Posted by: ivyschex | July 26, 2010

July 25, 2010 Diary post

July 25, 2010

Jackson

Sorry I haven’t been posting on here. I haven’t felt that I have made much progress. I have been working mostly on liberty and long lining. His piaffe is slowly getting better, but it is hindered by his weak left hind leg. I just haven’t done the exercises that I should with it.

He is starting to get a little bit of the Spanish Trot! Now, that is big news! I started working on that last year, but he didn’t get it and I am sure he wasn’t strong enough then. Now, it has begun to take shape. It came out of our work on the piaffe. It still has a long way to go, but it is a start.

Today, I went to the pasture and rode him around with just the halter. All the other horses were in there too. I just did some lateral movements at the walk. Then I did a bunch of work at the trot. I did circles and I was just asking him to use his back. I started by lifting the outside rein and tapping his inside flank with the endostick. When I tapped him, I felt his back momentarily lift up as he stepped under himself. That was cool! His trot got a little better, but not as much as I know it can. So I began to ask him to slightly untrack then go forward. This seemed to help him get his body worked out. He would then drive forward much better. I would then ask him to change bends and go the other way while still maintaining a nice trot. The first few times he wasn’t able to do it, but by untracking when he lost his balance, he was able to do better.

It felt pretty nice. I will work at getting a video of that soon.

Sadeem

I haven’t been working with Sadeem much. However, I am trying to make a video that shows how to train the ballancer and I want to teach it to him. Today was the first lesson. I just asked him to trot around me in the round pen. I would click when he went off right away.

Then I practiced having him turn toward me and reverse directions. Every time he did that, I would click and reward. It took about 15 minutes of this light work, but he started to get the hang of it. A couple of times he changed directions very quickly. He got a lot of treats then.

Ivy

Responses

  1. What do you exactly mean by “untrack”? Meaning, like, coming off the track in something like a shoulder in?

    Way to start working with Sadeem!

    Hannah

    • Hannah,

      It ended up being half should in and half untracking. By untracking, I mean disengaging. Dr. Deb Bennet said she likes the term “untracking” better. She says that whenever a horse gets unbalanced, ask them to untrack as this bring their hind legs under them…. I think! 🙂

      • Ah, so you would ask for his hindquarters to step over a little so that he was more angled to his direction of travel?

  2. Kind of. I was only asking for a tiny bit of movement from the hind quarters as I was doing it from the trot. I didn’t want him swing his hind end out, if that makes sense.


Leave a Reply

Categories

