Posted by: ivyschex | March 3, 2011

Diary Post: March 2, 2011 – Piaffe in Hand

March 2, 2011

Okay, I loved reading JP and someone else was saying on his forum about the piaffe. One of the things I wanted to do was slow Jackson’s tempo down in the piaffe.

So, yesterday I got Jackson out. I did some long and low lunge work to warm up. Then Jackson wanted to do the Spanish Walk.

Then I did some work in hand on the piaffe. I tried how JP said, just touching and pressing the horse’s thigh as the opposite diagonal is about to lift. I tried to make sure I wasn’t tapping hard, just touching.

I alternated that with tapping Jackson under the girth area. We were having a little difficulty with that as he would do little rears. I think it was because he didn’t know what I wanted. I found that if I just tapped the girth area once or twice, then waited or went back to tapping his leg, it worked much better.

I tried to watch and make sure his front legs didn’t go too far back. I found that a couple of times tapping his girth area helped them from leaning too far back.

Here is the link to our video of Piaffe in Hand.

Oh, he was a lot cleaner before the video, but he decided to roll around in the mud a few times. šŸ˜€

Ivy

Leave a Reply

Categories

