Posted by: ivyschex | April 11, 2011

Update with video: trotting, cantering, Spanish walk

April 9, 2011

I wanted to see how I was in terms of keeping my legs back. So I rode Jackson today and my brother took a video.

Wow, it is hard to concentrate on my seat and train Jackson at the same time! I could tell that when I was focused on my seat, I wasn’t able to focus on Jackson. And when I would work with Jackson, my seat fell apart. But watching the video, I feel that I have made a lot of progress. I could see and feel those times when I lost my balance. It is feeling more comfortable to keep my legs back.

I still feel fairly awkward in the canter. I am trying to move with the rhythm, but I find it is pretty hard. Maybe I am thinking about that too much.

The highlight, for me, was how nice Jackson’s Spanish walk was. Watching the video, he really was following through pretty well with the hind end most of the time.

Thanks so much everyone for encouraging me!

Ivy

Leave a Reply

Categories

