Posted by: ivyschex | July 6, 2011

Training Piaffe in hand and Under saddle

July 6, 2011

I worked with Jackson for about half an hour.  It was over 90 degrees out and I didn’t want to overdo it.

I worked first on in hand stuff.  I did some lateral bending (I think) and some shoulder in, both directions.  Then I did a little work on the piaffe.   I had been working on what JP said to work on, which is going slightly backwards in the piaffe and then more forwards.  There is just the little thing that Jackson thinks when I ask him to go back, he thinks it means lean back, so then I tap him a little harder with the endo stick and then he speeds up the temp.  So I was working on slowing the tempo back down.

I was also asking him to lift the front end up, but tapping once or twice under the girth.  He still doesn’t quite understand what that means, so he starts to stretch out.  So I tried to do more transitions and keep the piaffe work shorter.

I also rode for a little bit.  I think my riding was better, but after watching the video, I saw that it was only okay.  Also, he wasn’t round at all.  I will work on more lateral work.  I did more transitions today, but since he wasn’t round, I don’t think they helped much.  The other day I rode him and he did much better.

Also, I did raise that back of the saddle as Mike suggested.  I don’t know if it helped or not or if it needs to be raised more.

I also have some asthma/bronchitis, so I know I was tight in my shoulders and chest from that.  Makes it even harder to open up my chest.

We also did a really quick practice of the balancer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlO2sja418s

Ivy

Leave a Reply

Categories

