Posted by: ivyschex | September 28, 2011

Diary: Training a better canter?

September 28, 2011

I worked with Jackson for about an hour.  I mostly wanted to see how we were doing in the trot and canter.  I warmed up at the walk and did a bunchy of lateral exercises on a straight line and on the circle.


Then I did some trot, but I still felt really behind the movement.  After watching the video, I think that maybe shortening the stirrups might help.

At the canter, it didn’t feel as good today as it did last time, but I really do think it has improved a little.  I started with counter canter/counter bend on the square.  I think next time I will start with lots of forward down (duh?) and then do counter canter.

Any thoughts on the canter?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDRhMS2V47U

Ivy

 

Responses

  1. Wow, yes, his canter is getting so nice!! I loved his transition at 1:00 and then the canter from 1:20-30 was awesome! Nice work.

    • Hannah, Thanks! And thanks for giving me some times to look at. That seems to help me the most. We will keep working on it! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

