Posted by: ivyschex | February 18, 2012

Lateral Work with video

February 17, 2012

I was able to work with Jackson for a little bit. We started off warming up in the round pen. I was just going to ask him to free lunge, but he wanted to stay close and do some liberty stuff. So we just played around with that.

Then I got on and started doing lateral work at the walk. I think I was doing shoulder in on a circle, but I could be wrong, if so, just watch the video and correct me. I know that at times, Jackson neck was over bent, but I am still trying to get me sorted out and I will work on that. Also, I know that my hands were a bit jerky, not sure why.

I also tried doing a couple of reverse pirouettes, like they have been talking about on the Classical Dressage list. I know that one of the times, I look like the leaning tower of Pisa. 😀 I will keep working on that!

I then tried to get Jackson to do a little lateral work at the trot, but I don’t think I had much success. Should I just stick to the walk now? If not, what lateral work should I do at the trot. I tried untracking him and when he did move lateral just a little bit, I do feel like he had better balance for a few strides.

Also, he offered some very nice trot/canter transitions. Well, at least nicer than how he used to do them. Yes? No? Thoughts?

Oh, and I lengthened my stirrups one whole and I do not think that helped me much. I did that because I am supposed to be able to just lift my toe and put my foot in the stirrup, but they were too short for that before, so I changed them. I am not sure if that was a good thing or not.

Thanks so much!

Ivy

Leave a Reply

Categories

